MLB Rules on Controversial Plate Blocking Call in Mets-Cubs Game
ICARO Media Group
In a nail-biting game between the New York Mets and the Chicago Cubs, a controversial call at home plate left fans and players questioning the decision made by the umpire. Mets manager Carlos Mendoza expressed his dissatisfaction with the ruling, highlighting the need for further explanation from Major League Baseball (MLB). Despite Mendoza's protests, the league upheld the call, citing a clarification issued last season regarding catchers blocking home plate.
The play in question occurred when Cubs catcher Miguel Amaya made the final out of the game, securing a 1-0 victory for Chicago. Mendoza argued that Amaya had blocked the pathway of Mets player Pete Alonso, thus violating Rule 6.01 (i)(2) which states that catchers cannot obstruct a runner's attempt to score unless they possess the ball.
MLB's replay umpire Derek Thomas reviewed the play from the league's New York office and concluded that Amaya's initial positioning was legal, and he moved into the path of the incoming throw rather than blocking intentionally. MLB's statement explained that Alonso had a clear lane to home plate and was able to reach the plate without being hindered.
The league's stance on the interpretation of the rule raised some eyebrows, as it appeared to differ from a similar call made last year involving the Texas Rangers and catcher Jonah Heim. In that instance, Heim had his foot on the plate at the beginning of the play but did not end up blocking home plate. Despite the runner sliding into home plate without obstruction, umpires called a violation due to Heim's initial setup. The negative reaction to this call prompted discussions among the competition committee during the offseason, leading to an agreement that the wrong call had been made.
MLB officials explained that the umpires in the Cubs-Mets game applied the lessons learned from the Heim play and emphasized the importance of prioritizing safety and using common sense in determining if blocking occurred. Merely placing a foot on the plate does not automatically lead to a violation unless it impedes the runner. The ultimate decision lies with the umpires and the replay room, taking into account the specific circumstances of each play.
Mendoza, while disappointed with the ruling, recognized the need to adapt to the guidelines provided and continue working with what is given. The league's focus on safety and the application of common sense aims to ensure fair and consistent calls at home plate.
While the Mets may have found themselves on the losing end of the call, the incident serves as a reminder of the ongoing dialogue and assessment of rules to enhance the integrity and fairness of the game. With the season in full swing, players and managers will continue to adapt to these evolving interpretations as each call on the field has the potential to impact the outcome of a game.