Officials Overturn Patriots' Go-Ahead Touchdown against Dolphins for 'Toe-Heel' Violation

https://icaro.icaromediagroup.com/system/images/photos/16365933/original/open-uri20241006-18-tc8q43?1728256696
ICARO Media Group
Politics
06/10/2024 23h11

**Patriots' Touchdown Overturned Due to "Toe-Heel" Rule in Loss to Dolphins**

In a crucial moment during the fourth quarter of Sunday's game against the Dolphins, the Patriots believed they had clinched a go-ahead touchdown. The excitement was short-lived, however, as officials determined that wide receiver Ja'Lynn Polk did not secure both feet inbounds within the end zone.

Polk had made an impressive leap to catch Jacoby Brissett's pass at the back of the end zone. Initially, it appeared he had made the catch with one foot down and the toes of his other foot touching inbounds. Unfortunately for the Patriots, Polk's heel subsequently landed out of bounds, leading officials to negate the touchdown. The decision resulted in the Patriots eventually losing possession on downs.

After the game, NFL vice president of officiating George Stewart provided clarity regarding the controversial call. Speaking to pool reporter Mike Reiss of ESPN.com, Stewart explained, "The rule that was applied was the toe-heel rule. What happened was he did have one foot down in the field of play and at the completion of the second step, he had his toe in the field of play, but his heel came down on the white line out of bounds. So, he did not have two feet in bounds at the conclusion of the catch."

Stewart also emphasized the distinction between this play and situations where a receiver manages to drag their toes before stepping out of bounds. This nuanced difference in the ruling ultimately went against the Patriots, contributing to their loss on Sunday.

The views expressed in this article do not reflect the opinion of ICARO, or any of its affiliates.

Related