NCAA Contemplating Rule Adjustment After Oregon Coach's Strategic Penalty Play
ICARO Media Group
**NCAA Considering Rule Change After Oregon Coach's Tactical Penalty**
In a recent game that ended in Oregon's 32-31 victory over Ohio State, Oregon coach Dan Lanning's clever maneuver might prompt the NCAA to amend its in-season rules. The controversy arose when Lanning deliberately committed a penalty for having too many players on the field during the second-last play, swapping time for a numerical advantage on an expected passing play, which led to a five-yard penalty.
With only 10 seconds left in the game, Ohio State's pass was incomplete, leading to a scramble by quarterback Will Howard on the final play, during which he slid and let the clock run out. This critical moment helped Oregon secure its narrow win over Ohio State. NCAA secretary rules editor Steve Shaw indicated that the NCAA Football Playing Rules Committee is reviewing the incident and may consider an in-season rule modification in response. Shaw acknowledged the discussions on this play, stating, "We've had good dialogue on this play. We've recognized the way it played out."
Lanning openly confirmed the strategy to send cornerback Dontae Manning onto the field just before the play, providing Oregon a coverage advantage against Ohio State's three receivers on one side of its formation. Meanwhile, Jabbar Muhammad and Kobe Savage focused on covering OSU's Jeremiah Smith on the opposite side. The plan paid off as Muhammad, Oregon’s leading cornerback, disrupted Howard’s pass to Smith.
"Situational practice is something we invest significant time in," Lanning commented on Monday night. "While some scenarios are rare in college football, this one was part of our preparation, and you saw the outcome."
The NCAA often issues mid-season interpretations for unusual plays not specifically addressed by existing rules. A precedent occurred following the 2022 Oregon-Washington State game when an unconventional play involving then-WSU quarterback Cam Ward resulted in a later-deemed illegal forward pass due to an initial self-pass.
— James Crepea reports on the Oregon Ducks and the Big Ten. Tune into the Ducks Confidential podcast or sign up for the Ducks Roundup newsletter for more insights.